Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
numberhoan

Underrated Towns/Cities

16 posts in this topic

Maybe this should be in random thoughts.  My apologies!

2013 has been a very eventful year for me and my family:

-my sister's fiance died in a fiery car crash on the way home from coachella

-I finished my masters program(s)  (Botany and Public Policy)

-I'm just getting out of a 4 year relationship with my boyfriend (teehee).  

I'm in fayetteville, NC right now, living with my soon to be ex who is a military captain/pilot, and I'm ready to start a new life elsewhere.  

I'd need to get a job quickly (I'm broke) and i'd want rent to be reasonable.  I actually love NC a lot and am thinking about moving to asheville, charllote, or raleigh, or on the coast.  

BUT I'd also be interested in moving anywhere in the US that is relatively cheap (I grew up in Hawaii) and pretty enjoyable.  I really like the outdoors as well as city life, but my social life has always come second to being outdoors.   

Anyway, if you live in a smaller town and city and love it to death, please tell me about it!

Thanks,

Ryan

Portland, Maine. 

I moved out here from California/Seattle over a year ago and I have really come to enjoy it. It is a small town (66k residents in the city itself) but still has a downtown with a skyline of sorts, great restaurants and beer, water views all around ya and it doesn't cost you an arm and a leg to live in downtown. 

I am living on what is known as the East End with an apartment that has a (small) view of the water. It is only 400 bucks for my share of the apartment and it is fucking great. The outdoors and wilderness are only a short drive out of town and it is very easy to find yourself in the middle of nowhere. No traffic, no big crowds yet you still get the feel of a downtown; the food and nightlife of a downtown but without all that hustle and bustle. 

In terms of career options, eh. There are jobs but nothing that will make ya wet.